Skip to content

Melly Chlistmas and Happy Horidays

January 8, 2012

December proved an interesting month in Korea.  With Christmas spirit low, and no idea how Koreans take on the holiday, I had an interesting month ahead of me.  Most Koreans are classified as Atheist, with smaller populations being Buddhist and Christian.  Although Christmas is still celebrated, it is very different than most Western celebrations.  Koreans tend to think of Christmas as a ‘couples holiday’ with family taking an extreme backburner and Chritmas traditions accepted due to the recent Western influence.  With this in mind, I decided to introduce Western Christmas to my students as much as I could, and in turn, raise my own Christmas spirits as well.  What this turned into being was an interesting and sometimes hilarious interpretation of Christmas in the classroom.

Below are some videos from this month.  In my normal classes, I taught the students Christmas carols.   The students adopted a completely unique version of the songs twisting the ‘l’s and ‘r’s and creating new words that never existed in the English language.  The first one is a third grade class doing ‘jingle bells’ and the second is one student individually belting out ‘Santa Claus is coming to town’ while the rest of the class reads along.

Towards the end of the month I started English camp in which I was given 20 1st-2nd grade students to entertain and teach for a few hours each day.  Each day was a different theme and we made crafts, sang, danced and played games.  Yet most of the day consisted of these students forgetting I was the English teacher and just blabbling to me in Korean (which sounded like confessions of their whole life existence).  Not understanding a word they said, I am hoping they at least understood a word I said to them.  This may remain a mystery.  Below are some picture of the different crafts and activities I prepared for the camp.

(1st grade students in Korea decorate cookies….and then take a picture of it with their cell phones of course!)

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Shanel permalink
    January 12, 2012 2:04 am

    I recognize some of those cute little faces! haha such enthusiasm. I love it.

  2. larry wray permalink
    January 17, 2012 2:49 am

    Very cute, they have enthusiasm and seem like a great bunch of kids, wishing you well , I am getting info from your dad as he travels, seems like hes enjoying his trip, wish I was with him. Keep up the good work, love reading about your experiences,love and happiness, take care., the older, wiser, and getting fatter brother of your dad……

Leave a Reply

