Skip to content

‘Be Extra Cute for Your Teacher’ Day

May 29, 2012

Foreign public school teachers have it pretty good in Korea.  (A reason I stayed another year).  In this job, I get a lot of praise that I don’t deserve.  Firstly, I’m commended for a language I never had to learn.  Secondly, I don’t have to do much to receive laughs and applaud from children.  (Example: find a catchy song on YouTube which explains prepositions and 4th graders will sing it for days).

To make things even better, there is a whole day devoted to teachers.  May 15th is Teacher’s Day, and along with the gift of a few cancelled classes, I also got some miscellaneous things from the students (candy, flower pens, a rose made of soap…).  But the best surprise was a performance from one of my 4th grade classes to start off the lesson…

(They do it in Korean first, and then English)

Such cuties! 🙂

*I am a bit behind on the blog but plan on catching up soon.  I have been working on a new blog about my previous travels through South and Central America which should be done in the next few weeks.*

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    May 30, 2012 6:27 am

    Glad U R enjoying working. Wish U were hanging out in Solvang with us. Love, mom and Dad.

  2. Jill Arant permalink
    June 13, 2012 2:51 am

    Hi Jessica – love your newest blog (actually love all of them…) they are always interesting and refreshing. Bill’s son Jonathan is in the Army and currently he & fam are stationed in Japan – not far from Tokyo. As I look at a map – they are not far from Seoul – as the eagle flies. Their eldest, Jack, is 6 and attending a Japanese school. I thought I would send them your blog – I’m sure they would enjoy seing your Korean students and hearing about some of your exploits! Ohhhh remember in the wine tasting trip when your mother and I were DD’s – I was telling you guys about Bill’s son James Westbrook – and one of your friends said “Oh James Westbrook?! We said Oh do you know him???? She said, No but I like his name. hahahahaha that was so funny. Well this son is Jonathan Westbrook – wife is Carmen. Hope all is well with you – heard you won’t be able to come home for the wedding in August – your p’s are very disappointed. Don’t worry about it. They’ll get over it. haha Kidding. You take care – keep blogging!!!
    Love,
    Jill

Leave a Reply

